Here’s one for the internet.  My old band, the Vowels, at our peak in a live recording from 2004 at the Velvet Lounge in Washington, DC.  We opened for Detachment Kit (who rocked and traded whiskey shots with us), and Apollo Sunshine (who didn’t).  I played bass in the Vowels for 3 or 4 years.  Two out of four of the bandmembers went on to play in Clap Your Hands Say Yeah (who coincidentally play on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon tonight!), and one of the bandmembers played in Takka Takka for a spell.  I went on to move to the suburbs, have babies, domesticate and play records on the radio.  Go figure.

We did an album and a half, though I’m particularly proud of this live recording.  It’s messy and fast and the rhythm guitar player’s equipment keeps failing, but it’s got a certain energy that we had at our live best (in my humble opinion).  I sing back up on a few songs and also lead vox on my song “Academy” and on the Replacements tune “God Damn Job”.  Enjoy at your own risk.

The Vowels – Live in DC

http://rapidshare.com/files/205394005/Vowels_-_Live_in_DC.zip

1. Hey Neighbor
2. Insecticide
3. Gutterball
4. Academy
5. Seesaw
6. Thing Have Swum
7. Multiples of Three
8. Chafe
9. Drinking in Flint
10. Johnson Street Bridge
11. God Damn Job
12. Automatic Feeling
13. Idiot Switch

