THB names his fave big band recordings…

Is it a small orchestra or a large ensemble?

I was asked for a list of my five favorite big band recordings, for a downbeat feature Frank Hadley is writing. Even though I know there was a bit of blog-world discussion about this a few months ago (as usual Darcy James Argue was on the case with the roundup), it still ended up being a tough assignment; it’s so hard to nail down just five favorites, there’s so much spectacular stuff out there. (It hurts to have Basie, Gil Evans, Brotherhood of Breath, and however many others left out!) But in the end I went the sentimental route, and chose five recordings I love that have particular meaning for me personally.

via SpiderMonkey Stories » Blog Archive » Is it a small orchestra or a large ensemble?.

